Sarcasm: Love it or Hate it? My answer would have to be "LOVE LOVE LOVE sarcasm and sarcastic people.

17 Feb

According to WIKIPEDIA.com:

“Sarcasm is “a sharp, bitter, or cutting expression or remark; a bitter jibe or taunt.” Though irony and understatement is usually the immediate context, most authorities distinguish sarcasm from irony; however, others argue that sarcasm may or often does involve irony or employs ambivalence.”

According to the Webster’s Dictionary, sarcasm is also seen as a form of inflicting pain on another person.

I partly disagree with both definitions. I’m a very sarcastic person, and my intent is to never offend or cause pain to anyone. Sarcasm can be used in a fun, healthy and harmless way. Most of the time, my sarcasm isn’t viewed by other people as me being hurtful or vindictive. I’m sarcastic in a very joking and warm manner.  I use sarcasm to lighten the mood and to tear down trust walls that people build, because they may have been lied to and/or sold dreams by people in the past. However, I have seen the pain and unnecessary drama that sarcasm can cause, if used improperly. I don’t try to come off as sarcastic, it just comes naturally. Most of the time I keep people smiling and take the focus off of the thought “is this another stuck up dream seller that I can’t trust”

So, my answer would have to be “I LOVE SARCASM”….healthy and harmless sarcasm that is.

Leave a Reply

