The House I Grew Up In

18 Feb

old house

Share a memory about the house in which you grew up.

The house I grew up in was old, yellow and packed with my entire family.  My mom, her two sisters, two of my cousins and my Grandparents.  It was a real zoo.  When I became a teenager, I wanted more space and freedom, so any chance I got to get away from the madness I was desperate for it.

With my grandparents AND mother watching over me, it was very hard to do ANYTHING; so I started sneaking out to go to parties and meet up with a boy.  After watching “Ferris Bueller’s Day Off”, I got many bright ideas and I thought I was a master of disguise and sneaking out.  I came up with this great idea to get extra pillows and stuff them under my blankets to make it look like a body was in my bed sleeping, with a Rainbow Brite doll at the top for the head (lol).

My little trick worked like 2 or 3 times, but that last time was one of the worst days of my teenage life.  I got caught! My accomplice (whoever that was at the time) dropped me off at the end of the road.  I walked up to the house and noticed that my bedroom window was no longer cracked and unlocked for me to climb back in the window.  I also noticed that my light was now on.  My heart dropped.  I think that was the night I started having panic attacks.  So, I had no key, no unlocked window to climb in and no one to sneak me back in the house.  I was sooo terrified of my grandmother and her temper that I slept on a nasty bench that was in the back of our house until morning.  When I finally got up the nerve to walk in the house, my grandmother was waiting on me STILL, and started threatening me immediately.  She chased me up and down the road to beat the brakes off of me.  She was HUGE, and that was the scary part, but not faster than me, so that’s why I’m still here to talk about it.  She claimed the cat “Sam” told on me (old down south Grandmothers smh).

That was my horrible memory.

Powered by Plinky

Leave a Reply

